Testimonials

"Wowza - What an amzing magical journey! Peter knows everything and answered all our questions. He is a great birder, botonist and host. This trip exceeded our every expectations. Great time! Great Fun!"

3 Day Flinders Ranges Tour

Sarah & Art

Portland, Oregon, USA

November, 2019


"Very good 3 day trip to the Flinders Ranges. Well organised and enjoybale. Sleeping under the stars and camp fires were highlights as well as the Wilpena Pound walk. Peter has an encyclopedic knowledge on lots of things. Thank you."

3 Day Flinders Ranges Camping Tour

Barclay Family

Adelaide, SA & UK

October, 2019


"Enjoyable trip through the Flinders Ranges - what a beautiful part of the world. Thank you for a very informative tour."

3 Day Flinders Ranges Camping Tour

Emma

Perth, WA

October, 2019


"Great trip. We saw everthing we wanted to see and more. Even managed to walk on the banks of Lake Eyre. Weather was pretty good. Peter was a great driver and very pleasant company. We enjoyed a few good red wines here and there."

5 Day Lake Eyre Tour

Joyce & Anne

Ballarat, Vic

September, 2019


"Information always. Can make lunch unperturbed by howling wind, dust and masses of bush flies and still the best meal of the day. Enjoying a beer before the wine before dinner - just like me. A memorable trip. Covered it and tailored for us, even the Golden Spike. Thanks Peter."

5 Day Lake Eyre Tour

Craig

Melbourne

September, 2019


"What a wonderful trip is has been. I loved the diversity of the terrain, the opportunity to see sought after birds, Lake Eyre from the air and to actually paddle in North Lake Eyre near William Creek. Peter is a great driver, a font of information, producer of terrific lunches and morning teas and an excellent bird spotter. So much was achieved in only a few days.

5 Day Lake Eyre Tour

Sue

Melbourne

September, 2019


"This is my very first time camping trip in my life. It's was a wonderful experience with our driver Peter, He is amazing person. He has wide range of knowledge from geology, wildlife and the universe (stars). I learned so much more than any other trip. Also he is such a capable man for outback life, full of skills and preparing delicious meals. I was so amazed by his cooking skill even in a chinese wok. We all have been looked after so well. My english is not good in writing but all I want to say is I had a wonderful trip."

5 Day Lake Eyre Camping Tour

Nicole

Sydney, NSW

August, 2019


"What a wonderful I have met for the trip, Peter! You're a such capable, knowledgable, caring person. You made this trip enjoyable and I had so much fun which it will be remembered for my rest of life. Thank you you so much for looking after us with your warm heart every day of the trip. Wish you all the best and care of yourself as well."

5 Day Lake Eyre Camping Tour

Nancy

Sydney, NSW

August, 2019


"Peter is very kind, fully experienced multi skilled gentleman. If I have a next trip I will go with Peter."

5 Day Lake Eyre Camping Tour

Mona

Sydney, NSW

August, 2019


"Peter, you are so amzing. You made me feel  at home while far away from home. You certainly changed my attitude and view of travelling. When I sent the pictures home back in Dalls, Texas in the USA my husband wrote this 'you make John pround and even envious! Don't you think he might regret that he would not come with me. My first impression of a great Australia certainly is a life time precious experience."

5 Day Lake Eyre Camping Tour

Susan

Dallas, Texas, USA

August, 2019


 

"Thank you Peter for a wonderful and very enjoyable 5 days. Ah! the serenity. Great food and yor tour guide expertise was amazing. A great all round tour."

5 Day Lake Eyre Camping Tour

Robyn

Darwin, NT

August, 2019


"Our 5 day Swagabout Tour was both educational and fun. I learnt heaps about about our wide brown land from the very knowledgable Peter Crettenden. Thanks Peter for your yummy food and your help with putting up my tent more than once."

5 Day Lake Eyre Camping Tour

Robyn

Melbourne, Vic

August, 2019


"Fantastic 5 days of travelling, enjoying you hospitality, knowledge and love of this fabulous land. The food has been delicious, company entertaining with the final night of reading Banjo poetry in the bush camp a highlight."

5 Day Lake Eyre Camping Tour

Jenny

Melbourne, Vic

August, 2019


 "It was a wonderful visit and learning experience to many places I travelled as a young teenager and new ones too. Loved the adventure and admired the lunchtime chefing. So glad I deceided to join the trip."

7 Day Flinders Ranges, Lake Eyre, Coober Pedy Tour

Wendy

Canberra, ACT

July - August, 2019


"Thank you Peter for 7 wonderful days. In fact, day in day out you cared for us with good humour, patience, , good food and driving. We enjoyed the tremendous variety of scenery, information about geology, flora, fauna, history and  different types of accommodation. You timed the days well, no mean feat given the distances covered. Thank you for so many memorable experiences."

"The experience was even better than we had hoped for. Shall never forget the quandong pie at Lake Eyre."

7 Day Flinders Ranges, Lake Eyre, Coober Pedy Tour

Cathy & Noel

Melbourne, Vic

July - August, 2019


 "Great time. Enjoyed every bit. Lake Eyre flight very special. Arkaroola Ridgetop tour hair-raisingly amazing. Peter has shared some of his knowledge so well and has been a considerate guide. Could recommend this trip to anybody."

7 Day Flinders Ranges, Lake Eyre, Coober Pedy Tour

Lou

Hobart, Tasmania

July - August, 2019


 "Thank you for a great trip to the SA Outback. Lots of iteresting information and appreciation of the history and sights of the local area. We enjoyed the relaxed style and good company. I'm not surprised your family traces back to 150 yeras in the area you really know and love the state and it's lovely to hear all the stories."

3 Day Lake Eyre Only Tour

Billie, Tim & Katie

July, 2019


 "Thanks for a great 6 days Peter. Lots of insights and places visited that we otherwise would not have experienced. Highly professional and thye food was great too."

6 Day Flinders Ranges, Lake Eyre, Coober Pedy Tour

Phil

Adelaide, SA

July, 2019


 "Our 6 day tour with Peter was exceptional. He is an experienced and passionate operator. We saw so much each day. Excellent variety of experiences. Peter is very knowledgable and friendly. Food was great. Many thanks for a memorable trip."

6 Day Flinders Ranges, Lake Eyre, Coober Pedy Tour

Angela & John

Brisbane, Qld

July, 2019


"We had a wonderful 5 day tour with Peter. Saw so much more than we expected to. The food was great and healthy. We would definitely recommend him to anyone wanting to experience the great outback."

5 Day Lake Eyre Camping Tour

Janine & George

Wollongong, NSW

June, 2019


"Thank you Peter for such a wonderful trip. Great food, clean and comfortable at all times. It was such a pleasure to be guided through remote areas. Your knowledge is impressive and you always responded to our questions with good cheer. I'm very glad that my friend will be coming on one of your tours. Everything was top notch."

5 Day Lake Eyre Camping Tour

Mary

Melbourne

June, 2019


 "What a nice journey in Australia. Landscapes were as different as Peter was nice with us and it was not an easy thing to do. We did such a lot of things that we couldn't expect to, such as bush camps, wonderful hikes, bush lunches with flies, sunset time in the middle of nowhere. We couldn't think it was so huge. We do appreciate the spending time learning about Australian way of life and sharing with improving english a little bit. In some point of view you look as a father teaching a lot of things that we will hopefully remember. We will remember this trip all our lives. Thank you Peter."

10 Day Adelaide, Flinders Ranges, Coober Pedy, Uluru, Kings Canyon, Alice Springs Tour

Maliki-Poupeau Family

Noumea, New Caledonia/France

June, 2019


"Thank you for the past 10 days of adventure and wonder. We've never travelled with a 'geologist' and enjoyed learning about the land in a new and important way. We will never forget the walks(and the flies). It is obvious that you have a deep love of the land: you impart this well. We saw and did things we never thought we would making this adventure all the more compelling. Thank you for your humour, your flexibility and your company."

10 Day Alice Springs, Kings Canyon, Uluru, Coober Pedy, Lake Eyre, Flinders Ranges, Broken Hill, Mungo NP & Mildura Special Tour

Datta Family

Wisconsin, USA

May, 2019


"Thank you for a fantastic, interesting and informative trip. We wouldn't have learnt half as much if we had been travelling under our own steam. You have been easy company and we really appreciate your efforts to ensure we have all had a good time. Hope to do another trip soon."

5 Day Flinders Ranges, Lake Eyre Tour

The Lance Family

Adelaide 

April, 2019


"We thank you for a memorable and intertesting day touring the Clare Valley. Great knowledge of the area and wineries. Memorable morning tea at Skillogaleed Winery. Really enjoyed the whole day. Definitely recommend you to others travelling to South Australia. Thanks again for a great day."

1 Day Clare Valley Winery Tour

Julie, Bob, Aida & Coz

Perth, WA

April, 2019


"We enjoyed travelling with you 3 days in the Flinders Ranges. You are a very professional guide and scout. With you we are getting a lot of amazing experiences about wildlife at peace with nature. We liked overnighting in Rawnsley Park with good dinner and converstaion in the Woolshed Restaurant. You explain clearly so that we understand most of the geological history of the Flinders Ranges, the flowers, trees and animals. Visiting Wadlata Outback Centre and travelling through the 'Tunnel of Time' was a good final end of our trip. Thank you very much."

3 Day Flinders Ranges Tour

Frank & Doris

Germany

January, 2019


"Thank you Peter for all these beautiful places you make me discover including the geology, the rocks and Ediacarian fossils as well the kangaroos, birds and lizards."

"Thank you Peter for the friendly contact with us and for sharing of your knowledge of geology, animals and plants in the beautiful landscape of the Flinders Ranges"

"It was a wonderful trip for me. Your explanations were very clear. I have understood the geologic history of the region, the flowers and the animals. Thank you, your attention and your adaption at my bad english.

"Peter you are a wonderful host for your guests. Your tour is always remarkable: landscape, geology and history of Australian people. You're a likeable man."

3 Day Flinders Ranges Tour

Lionel, Dominique, Chantel & Marie

France

December 2018


"Geology, history, hiking. Those 3D/2N were perfect and way above my expectations. I had a great time and will come back to France with a lot of wonderful memories thanks to you.Merci beaucoup"

"We had 3 wonderful days and 2 big experiences:

      1) the King brown snake was a higlight for Sandra

      2) her first kangaroos and a lot of good stories and explanations

3 Day Flinders Ranges Tour

Sandra & Regine

France

November 2018


"The 3 day tour with Swagabout Tours was absolutely great. Peter the tour guide was very knowledgable and most certainly lined up a very nice itinerary. His cullinary skills in providing all the meals proved what a good chef he is also. Christine and I are enriched by this trip."

3 Day Kangaroo Island Tour

Christine & Graham - NSW

November 2018


"Our tour for 14 travellers:

Firstly to the Flinders Ranges for a great soft adventure for seniors. We accomplished many challenging walks for some but everyone thoroughly enjoyed the views, the companionship and your wonderful feeling for the country and knowledge.

The second tour to Kangaroo Island was also enjoyed by 14 travellers and showed us the many interesting and unique features of this amazing island."

7 Day Flinders Ranges Tour

5 Day Kangaroo Island Tour

Belrose Probus Club

Sydney, NSW, Australia

September, 2018


"Thanks Peter for a wonderful week touring Kangaroo Island and the Fleurieu Peninsula - exceeded all my expectations! Beautiful wildlife, spectacular scenery and convivial company.

5 Day Kangaroo Island & Fleurieu Peninsula Tour

Helen B

Sydney, Australia

September, 2018


"A wonderful trip made possible with Peter's amazing knowledge of all things and places SA. I especially enjoyed our morening teas and lunches in the open air. Thanks.

7 Day Flinders Ranges Tour

5 Day Kangaroo Island Tour 

Belrose Probus Club

Judy M.

Sydney , Australia

September, 2018


"I really enjoyed the tour itinerary and the explanations given by Peter along with scenic views and excellent weather. I had really great pleasure to discover the Flinders Ranges and enjoyed everything including the company of Peter.

A great memory I'll bring back home.

Thank you sincerely Peter"

3 day Flinders Ranges Tour

Ghislaine

Paris, France

May, 2018


Adelaide, Flinders Ranges via Barossa & Clare Valley's.

"What an amazing experience!

I have had a fabulous time exploring the area with Peter. Superb scenery and lots of wildlife. Peter is a great guide and extremely knowledgable. The highlight of the tour was Wilpena Pound but I have loved exploring so many other places -

too many to expand! I intend to return to SA and hope to travel with Swagabout and Peter to explore new routes!"

Thank you Peter for an amazing 4 days.

4 Day Barossa Valley, Flinders Ranges Tour

Anita

Liverpool, UK

April, 2018


"What a great time I had in the outback of NSW. each day uniquely different and amazing. I have now an appreciation of this wonderful country I live in.

Thank you Peter, I hope to see you again".

6 Day Broken Hill, Mungo NP, Mildura Tour

Kate

Sydney, Australia

April, 2018


Leaving Adelaide for a three day tour of the Flinders Ranges.

"Leaving town for the great stories of Geology, myths and legends and a way back to nature. Thank you Peter for all these beautiful place you make me discover, for all the stops where you show me what I didn't see alone.

Your good real coffee pauses earlier in the mornings was delicious. If you are in Adelaide don't miss the Flinders Ranges and if I have the possibility, I'll be back here to see and understand more.

Thank you Peter for your care and your advice."

3 Day Flinders Ranges Tour

Jean-Louis

Paris, France

March, 2018


 "Four days and three nights of fantastic landscape, native animals, stories, places and friendly people. Peter knows everything, or at least there was not a questions he couldn't answer and is a great driver and guide. We'll go back to Paris with fantastic memories of South Australia and a desire to return and explore further this beautiful part of Australia.

And don't hesitate to call Peter if you need to tour this wonderful part of the country.

Thanks Peter, see you next time."

4 Day Flinders Ranges Tour

Stephane & Laurent

Paris, France

March, 2018


"Peter's trek was part of our 2 month odyssey from Traverse City, Michigan to Australia and back. Peter's knowledge of the Flinders Ranges was remarkable. We lerned so much about the history and the geological development of the area. our stay at Rawnsley Park was very comfortable and the evening meals at the Woolshed was a wonderful dining experience. We will talk about these memories for years.

3 Day Flinders Ranges Tour

Tom & Maggie

Traverse City, Michigan, USA

February, 2018


"We went on a 4 day/3night trip from Ade;aide - Rawnsley Park - Arkaroola. It was great to go in such a quiet time of the year and experience these amazing places virtually all to ourselves. The Ridgetop Tour was a highlight. Peter's cooking was delicious and the trip was very well organized. Thanks to his hard work we had a wonderful outback experience.

I was certainly impressed with Peter's range of knowledge. He was very informative on all matters from Outback history to local vegetation. A very enjoyable trip."

4 Day Flinders Ranges Tour

Rachel & Russell

UK

January, 2018


"Definitely a quick one, but very well timed and organised. Peter knows very well Australia and the Adelaide area and he definitely wants to pass his knowledge to his guests.

We liked and we will come again with Peter."

1 Day Kangaroo Island Tour

Guillaume & Jeff

France

December, 2017


"Thanks Peter, we have been surprised and delighted by your helpfulness, knowledge and good humoured approach to touring. We have particularly appreciated the way you have tailor made our experience and the surprises that resulted for us.

This trip was everything we hoped for and much more. the many kindness and consideration you showed us made this trip do-able for us."

5 Day Barossa Valley & Flinders Ranges Tour

5 Day Kangaroo Island and Fleurieu Peninsula Tour

Doug & Pam

Canberra, Australia

November 2017


"Thanks for a great trip. I had a great time."

3 Day Flinders Ranges

Joe

NZ/Germany

November, 2017


"Thanks for a great trip. One of the best I've done in this lovely country."

3 Day Flinders Ranges

Marten & Eva

Sweden

November, 2017


"Great trip, very informative, always happy to a blige us with a request, went out of his way to show the flora, fauna, rock formations.

Thanks for a great trip Peter."

5 Day Lake Eyre Tour

Tania & Helen

Cairns, Qld, Australia

October, 2017


"Had a great trip to Birdsville Races. Peter is an excellent tour operator. Tent accommodation, swags, food were all excellent.

Would highly recommend Swagabout Tours. Would love to come back. Thanks for such an enjoyable time."

6 Day Birdsville Races Tour

Paul & Marg

Camden, Sydney, NSW

September, 2017


"The experience was so great. Peter has a wealth of knowledge."

6 Day Birdsville Races Tour

Valda

Adelaide, SA

September, 2017


"The personalised nature of our 4 day 3 night Lake Eyre tour was good. the knowledge of the flora, fauna, geology and indigenous culture were terrific and we enjoyed the company and seeing things we diod not know about."

4 Day Lake Eyre Tour

Paul and Cathy

Evanston Gardens, SA

June, 2017


We did a 3D/2N tour of Kangaroo Island with Peter. We opted for the camping experience and slept in a swag in a tent for the 2 nights. It was a fun and interesting taste of Australian Outback camping.

Peter is a treasure trove of information on the flora and fauna of the Island and the various places of interest that we went to. He also had a sharp eye and spotted lots of birds, kangaroos and koalas for us to take photographs of.

We also enjoyed the food that Peter prepared for us with lots of unusual food such as vegemite, crumpets, sweet potato, dips and dolmades which we didn't know about and enjoyed. Had a fantastic time and Peter took care of us.

Thank you very much for taking great care of us the past couple of days. specially appreciate your flexibility adapting to our bird watching interests. Also loved the impromptu stop at the pink lake with the samphire tasting.

All te best for your future endeavours.

3 Day Kangaroo Island Tour

Goh & Han

Singapore

May, 2017


"Thank you Peter for a wonderful, enjoyable and educative trip. Your knowledge of the land, environment, indigenous culture and history enhanced the journey to no end. The parts of Australia you focus on represents our true roots as a nation and should be compulsory visiting for all urban Australians."

4 Day Lake Eyre Tour

John & Chris

Canberra, Australia

May, 2017


A 5 star outback adventure.

"We have experienced the real Australia with Peter. His extensive knowledge of geologicla aspects of the land helped us understand the Australian outback features. Peter's friendly laid back Aussie style made this trip relaxing and enjoyable. All the places that we went to we loved, in particular Arkaroola, the Ridgetop Tour and the Lake Eyre flight. It was a life time experience that should be on everyone's bucket list. Thanks for all your driving, meals, picnics under the coolabah trees or in the ruins. If you are a coffee connoisseur this is a trip not to be missed - real Italian coffee served from Peter's 16 cup caffettiera daily.

Thanks Peter for a memorable trip."

9 Day Flinders Ranges, Dalhousie Springs, Coober Pedy Tour

Rita & Caterina

Melbourne, Australia

April, 2017


"We have been with Peter on a tour to Flinders Ranges, Arkaroola and Coober Pedy.

It was a great tour. We have found a friend. All was good organized and everywhere we got time enough to see what was for us interesting. Peter adjusted to our interests. Accommodation and food were good selected.

Thank you very much."

7 Day Flinders Ranges, lake Eyre, Coober Pedy

Harald & Beati

Germany

March, 2017


" We had a two day tour guided by Peter. He is an experienced and knowledgable tour guide which is a great help for us. We enjoyed the time on Kangaroo Island with him together.

Many Thanks to Peter."

2 Day Kangaroo Island Tour

Lin, Haixia & Family

Beijing, China

December 2016


"Very Interesting and knowledgable tour guide. We both enjoyed our few days and feel we now know and appreciate the Flinders Ranges.

Many thanks Peter for a great tour."

3 Day Flinders Ranges Tour

Wendy & Albert

London, England

October, 2016


"Very enjoyable 7 day tour to Coober Pedy. Many Highlights, comprehensive and very informative commentary by Peter.

Peter was very knowledgable on many topics and greatly assisted to set a much better understanding of geology, plants, animals and townships.

A good group, good weather and overall a very enjoyable tour trip."

7 Day Flinders Ranges, Lake Eyre & Coober Pedy

John

Sydney, Australia

October, 2016


" Peter, ......what can we say!

This has been an absolutely marvellous week. The outback exceeded our expectations and your planned itinerary was exceptional.

Your company and extensive knowledge of such a vast range of subjects just added perfectly to what has been a most memorable week."

6 Day Flinders Ranges, Lake Eyre & Coober Pedy

Margaret & Don

Wollongong, NSW

September 2016


"Old mate! Had a good time travelling across a little corner of the outback. Nice to hear the story of the land from you as we made our way across the alien landscape of the desert.

Was good chatting with you over dinner and drinks. You've inspired me to spend more time out there.

Thank's again."

7 Day Flinders Ranges, Lake Eyre & Coober Pedy Tour

Alex

Melbourne, Victoria

July, 2016


"Thank you so much for a very enjoyable trip. You have brought the outback to life for us through your extensive knowledge of the earth, geology, indigenous and early settler history. We very much appreciated the conversations

over lunch in the lovely outdoor settings and at the end of the long days over dinner. I, in particular was very grateful for your skill in avoiding all the roo's at dusk. A great guide! A great trip!"

7 Day Flinders Ranges, lake Eyre & Coober Pedy

Anna, Richard, Alex & Cass

Melbourne, Victoria

July 2016


"What a great trip, loved every minute of it.

We all learnt so much about your lovely country. Great host, great cook, what else could you say."

"Peter you were so informative and we have learnt so much. The swags were a great experience and a neat way to appreciate the outback. Thank you.

Hopefully we will see you again."

6 Day Flinders Ranges, Lake Eyre & Coober Pedy

Marilyn, Robyn & Graham

Waipukurau, New Zealand

April, 2016


" Great trip, All positives, no negatives. Peter's knowledge and experience made for a very informative trip.

Most enjoyable and will keep many memories of the out back tour.

Thank Peter"

6 Day Flinders Ranges, Lake Eyre & Coober Pedy

Terry

Adelaide

April, 2016


9 Days to Kangaroo Island then to Flinders Ranges, lake Eyre and Coober Pedy.

"It was a great trip to experience the outback by sleeping under the stars and going tracks most tours would avoid.

Thank's Peter for being a knowledgable guide and good cook. Also thanks for your patience with my picture taking."

9 Day Kangaroo Island, Flinders Ranges, Lake Eyre , Coober Pedy

Bette & Ron

Minnesota, USA

February 2016